Enjoy your stay in Croatia and do not forget “Ambassador travel is your key to Croatia”

Welcome to Croatia

The territory of the Republic of Croatia encompasses an area of 56,538 km2 sea of almost 31,000km2.

The length of borders is more than 2000 km, according to the last census 4.262,100 people live in the Republic of Croatia. The population, as of other countries of this region, has a very complex ethnic structure as a result of historical demographic shifts, changes of state borders and other natural or violent influences. Religion is Roman Catholic, Serbian Orthodox, Muslim, Judaism and other.

The official language is Croatian, and the national currency is kuna.

The country is divided into three distinct zones: Mediterranean, montane and Pannonian.

Croatia has no mountain peaks exceeding 1900 m. It is 4 % of the Danube river that passes through Croatia.

The Adriatic sea extends over an area of 138,595 km. It is 738 km long and its average width is about 170 km. Its greatest depth, 1233 m was measured 100 km south of Dubrovnik. The overall length of the Adriatic coast is 3737 km of which 74% belong to Croatia.

There are 66 inhabited islands, 652 deserted islands and islets, 389 cliffs and 78 reefs. The currents are mostly weak and have no significant influence on maritime traffic. The most frequent winds are bora, sirroco and north-westerly mistral wind is a daily wind which blows from the sea towards the mainland in warm seasons bringing relief from the summer heat.

The richness and diversity of nature is reflected in the number of national parks.

There are seven national parks three of which are located in the mountain area Risnjak, Paklenica and the Plitvice Lakes included in the World Natural Heritage List protected by the UNESCO and four in the coastal area Mljet, Krka, Kornati and Brijuni.

Croatia is proud of its seven Cultural Properties inscribed on the World Heritage List and its Intangible Cultural Heritage
List comprising thirteen representative items.

  1. Old City of Dubrovnik (1979)
  2. Historical Complex of Split with the Palace of Diocletian (1979)
  3. Plitvice lakes National Park (1979)
  4. Historic city of Trogir (1997)
  5. Episcopal complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in the historic center of Poreč (1997)
  6. The Cathedral of St James in Šibenik (2000)
  7. Stari Grad Plain on the island of Hvar (2008)

List of intangible Cultural Heritage (13)

Lacemaking, two-part singing and playing in the Istrian scale, Festivity of St Blaise, Patron Saint of Dubrovnik, Spring procession from Ljelje/Kraljice( Queens) from Gorjani, Annual. Carnival Bell ringers’ Pageant from the Kastav area, Procession Za Križem (Following the Cross) on the Island of Hvar, Traditional Manufacturing of Children’s Wooden Toys in Hrvatsko Zagorje. The Sinjska Alka, a knight’s tournament in Sinj, Gingerbread craft from Northern Croatia, Bećarac singing and playing from Eastern Croatia, Nijemo kolo, silent circle dance of the Dalmatian hinterland, Klapa multipart singing of Dalmatia Southern Croatia, Mediterranean diet.

Croatia is a multi-party parliamentary republic. The referendum on Croatian independence was held on 12-19 May 1991. 8 October, 1991- the Croatian Parliament passed a decision on breaking all states and legal bonds it had with other republics in Yugoslavia, and confirmed the validity of other declarations and decisions passed on June 25, 1991.

On 15 January 1992 Croatia became the member of the United Nations.

On 1 July 2013 Croatia became a full-pledged EU member assuming all the rights and obligations stemming from the membership.

Enjoy your stay in Croatia and do not forget:
“Ambassador travel is your key to Croatia”

Comments are closed.